Jubilee Baby

What a lovely long weekend we’ve had in the UK to celebrate the Queen’s diamond jubilee.  Very little partying has gone on in our house due to a combination of weather-influenced apathy and the awkwardness of managing a baby but I didn’t want the occasion to go completely unmarked.  My little guy is the first British citizen in my family so I decided he should be suitably attired and fly the flag.  Isn’t it practically compulsory to dress your children in embarrassing outfits once in a while?!

Not wanting his American heritage to be ignored, I decided to break up the Union Jacks with some stars.

I whipped these trousers up on Friday night, using the Big Butt Baby Pants pattern from Made by Rae.  I love this pattern – it’s beautifully simple, and the back panel gives extra room for cloth nappy-wearing babies.  I can see I’ll be making several more of these for my little guy, it’s just the sort of quickie project that suits my life right now.  Maybe not in patriotic fabric, I don’t want him to hate me too much when he’s older!  Still, he looks pretty happy in them, doesn’t he?

Hope you’ve all had a lovely weekend, whether celebrating or relaxing!

6 responses to “Jubilee Baby

  1. This is too adorable for words! Love the British Bulldog t-shirt ….and the striped socks, too! He will be proud that he celebrated QEII in grand style!! Mxo

  2. Pratically compulsory? Undoubtedly so. The time will come fast enough when he’ll want to wear outfits that embarrass you, so you have to get in first! ;-) That is one gorgeous little outfit on a gorgeous little man.

  3. Oh how cute is he?! And what a great Jubilee photo for the album. I bags he will be asking for a set like this when he is a grown up! ;-)

  4. oh SO CUTE!! If you have a chance, put some pics in the BBBPant flickr pool: http://www.flickr.com/groups/bigbuttbabypants/ or the Made By Rae one: http://www.flickr.com/groups/madebyrae or both!! Love them.

  5. Everyone is entitled to a few novelty outfits for their kids! In almost every photo of me when I was 3, I am wearing a fairy costume, it’s something fun to look back at :)

  6. This is soooo adorable!! What a cutie pie too:)

Leave a Reply

