Backtracking slightly

One final post on the wedding before we consign it well and truly to my sewing history!

You may remember that as well as Sue’s wedding dress I was making my own bridesmaid dress, using Vogue 1192.

Well, just to say I did walk down the aisle in this dress, which was nothing short of a miracle.  Suffice to say that not having made anything like THE DRESS before I had no idea how long each stage would take, and here is my tip to you if you ever find yourself taking on anything like this and especially if you are as novice as I am when it comes to couture sewing – ALLOW AT LEAST THREE TIMES AS LONG AS YOU THINK YOU WILL NEED FOR EVERY STAGE.

If I ever did it again, I would have a much better idea of how to go about everything and I wouldn’t have to study each technique before I used it, but as it was I found myself finishing THE dress at about 10pm the night before the big event.  Thank heavens Sue was amazingly relaxed about this, more so than I would have been, that’s for sure!

So all well and good, it was finally done.  What was not done, or even started, was my own dress, which was still in the bag as lengths of silk, lining and a very roughly adjusted pattern with a never put together toile.  Since I was Maid of Honour AND had to stand up in the front of the church and perform two songs as well (one of which was in Welsh!), attendance in underwear and shoes only was not really an option.

Lest you should think me so laid back / mad that I hadn’t thought about getting it done over the preceding months, I had felt I needed to finish Sue’s dress before starting mine.  (In the master plan, this would have happened a good month before the wedding!)

I can’t tell you anything about the making of my dress, other than:

  1. I started at 10:30 pm, sewed like a crazy woman until 5:30 am, slept 2 hours and hemmed it while putting on my makeup for the wedding
  2. It fit (more or less), but does not bear inspection, close or otherwise
  3. This is never a good idea, and especially not when you are 6 weeks pregnant and hormonal
  4. DO NOT do this at home!

Anyway just to prove it actually did materialise in the end, here I am, suitably obscured, plus a couple of action shots!

Something blue embroidered inside

Something blue embroidered inside

(Perhaps a little concealer could have been used on those dark circles!)

Anyway with that, it’s farewell to wedding dresses and onto less lofty things!

6 responses to “Backtracking slightly

  1. Felicity from Down Under

    whatever you might think of its construction and the less said the better about close inspection, it does look lovely. It’s a beautiful colour and, let’s face it, the main focus was always – and always going to be – on the bride, wasn’t it? I think you’re jolly amazing, mind you! And singing as well. Brava.

  2. Oh my god, the wedding dress just looks so awesome. All those tiny loop buttonholes! The blue embroidery! I bet your dress was loads better than you’re making out, also. I still can’t believe you pulled this off!

  3. The bridesmaid dress – I just received that pattern in a pattern swap this weekend and feel very excited by it. I wonder if I sublimely remembered it from this post.

    • I wish I could give you some tips but it’s all a bit of a blur! I do remember needing a certain amount of faith with the lining and the ruching… Enjoy!

  4. Pingback: Pyjama Party! Kisses for me, save all your kisses for me! | To Boldly Sew

  5. I just found your blog (through the Pyjama Party!) and first of all, I’m so impressed by the bridal gown that you made! It’s absolutely gorgeous! Second– I made bridesmaid’s dresses for my sister’s wedding in November (three dresses, each different), and boy, do I feel your pain! I REALLY wish that someone had told me to double the time I thought it would take to make everything! I was up all night the night before the wedding, and was frantically hand-sewing as we were doing out hair! Eek! So yeah… definitely feel your pain!! But both dresses turned out beautifully, and you look lovely in the photos!

Leave a Reply

